The ITFlorida Board of Directors announced the 2009 finalists for the annual Awards Program, which will culminate with the announcement of awards winners at the highly anticipated 7th Annual Awards Gala and Tech Forum, November 10-11, at Disney's Yacht Club Resort.

Participants in the Gala will include Florida House Speaker Designate Dean Cannon; State CIO David Taylor; Dr. Ken Ford, Chair of the NASA Advisory Council and Director of the Institute for Human and Machine Cognition; State Representative Marlene O'Toole; Earnie Franklin, Chair of ITFlorida and President of Incepture; Roger Berry, CIO for Disney Parks and Resorts Worldwide; and representatives of numerous small businesses and IT-enabled corporations throughout Florida.

"As an industry, we are proud to announce this slate of remarkable finalists, who represent the forefront of Florida's knowledge economy," said Earnie Franklin, Chair of ITFlorida. "For every year of the program, we have set a new record for number of nominations received, which in 2009 was 243. I'm certain that our Gala event at Disney next month will break new ground and continue our shared mission of making Florida a leader in high tech advancement."

For more information about the Gala and Tech Forum, visit

The finalists for 2009 are as follows, by category:

Excellence in IT Leadership-Northwest

  • AppRiver - Gulf Breeze
  • - Panama City Beach
  • Epoch Software - Gulf Breeze
  • iSirona, David Dyell - Panama City

Excellence in IT Leadership-Northeast

  • Baptist Health - Jacksonville
  • Edward Waters College, Bernard Chapple - Jacksonville
  • JEA, Wanyonyi J. Kendrick - Jacksonville
  • Legal Art Works - Jacksonville

Excellence in IT Leadership-Central

  • DiCom Software - Orlando
  • Radixx Solutions International - Orlando
  • SkillStorm - Orlando
  • Wave Software - Orlando

Excellence in IT Leadership-Tampa Bay

  • Gevity, Vito Melfi - Bradenton
  • Infinity Business System, Terry Hedden - Tampa
  • ITS Florida, Sandra Beck - Saint Petersburg
  • Mark Abbott, Senior Vice President, Strategy & Technology Alignment, Raymond James - Saint Petersburg

Excellence in IT Leadership-Southwest

  • ASG Software Solutions - Naples
  • Dan Miller, Neighborhood America / Startup Florida - Sarasota
  • Medical Education Technologies Inc., Michael Bernstein - Sarasota
  • Surround Technologies, Paul Hoffman - Estero

Excellence in IT Leadership-Southeast

  • InternetCoast - Boca Raton
  • Our Kids of Miami-Dade/Monroe: OK Connect - Miami
  • PHYSICIANS4U, Inc - Miami
  • South County Mental Health Center, Inc., Stephen Hogan - West Palm Beach

Excellence in Bridging the Digital Divide

  • Angels Helping Hands Foundation - Orlando
  • Florida A&M University - Tallahassee
  • John S. and James L. Knight Foundation - Miami
  • The Institute for School Innovation: Project CHILD - Tallahassee

Excellence in Business Recruitment and Retention

  • Collier County: Project Innovation - Naples
  • Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission - Orlando
  • Technological Research Development Authority - Melbourne
  • The Small Business Development Center at UNF - Jacksonville

Excellence in Sustainability through Information Technology

  • AirIT - Orlando
  • Florida Public Health Institute - Lake Worth
  • University of Miami College of Engineering - Coral Gables
  • Water Optimizer - Tampa

Excellence in Web 2.0

  • 3Cinteractive - Boca Raton
  • Find and Convert - Palm Harbor
  • Medisyn Systems, Inc., Dr. Evan Earl Dussia - Tallahassee
  • Neighborhood America - Naples

Government Technology Leadership-Private

  • A Child is Missing Alert - Fort Lauderdale
  • ePrescribe Florida
  • Interstate Transport, Barbara Ell - Saint Petersburg
  • Persystent Software, Mary Maloney - Tampa

Government Technology Leadership-Public

  • Florida Agency for Health Care Administration - Tallahassee
  • Florida Department of Transportation - Tallahassee
  • Florida House of Representatives - Tallahassee
  • Miami-Dade County Government Information Center - Miami

High Growth Company of the Year

  • eMason - Clearwater
  • Launch Pad Online - Odessa
  • Motion Point - Coconut Creek
  • SGIS - Fort Lauderdale

Innovation and Entrepreneurialism Award

  • Audigence Inc. - Melbourne
  • Cables Media - Fort Lauderdale
  • WiPower Inc. - Gainesville
  • XSell - Jacksonville

Small Business of the Year

  • Accelogic - Weston
  • Asevotech - Tampa
  • Blue Dasher Technologies - Miami
  • CareCloud - Miami

IT Leader of the Year

  • Tony DiBenedetto, President and CEO, Tribridge - Tampa
  • Garry Jones, President, Full Sail - Winter Park
  • Scott Riley, CEO, Financial Information Technologies (Fintech) - Tampa